REV’IT! Dominator GTX Gloves

Editor Score: 93.0%

Aesthetics 9.5/10
Protection 9.75/10
Value 8.0/10
Comfort/Fit 10.0/10
Quality/Design 9.0/10
Weight 9.0/10
Options/Selection 9.0/10
Innovation 9.5/10
Weather Suitability 9.0/10
Desirable/Cool Factor 9.5/10
Overall Score 92.25/100

Choosing to use the Dominator GTX gloves during a 1600+ mile tour throughout England was one of the better decisions I’ve made recently. They kept me dry through the bipolar Welsh weather and, with the help of the Scrambler 1200’s heated grips, they kept my hands cozy into the low 40s at night. I’m also confident that they would do an excellent job of protecting my paws should things go south.

The REV’IT! Dominator GTX is a high-tech glove bringing together a multitude of materials into a well thought out, protective and weatherproof design that’s comfortable day in and day out.

If you’re the kind of motorcyclist that geeks out over interesting materials, this glove has them in spades. The outer of the Dominator is mostly made from goatskin leather which provides a soft, almost broken-in feel straight from the package. Pittards WR100X hairsheep diamond leather makes up the palm and inner fingers to deliver great tactile feel. WR100X leather’s unique tanning process allows for minimal water and perspiration uptake into the material without inhibiting the leather’s natural breathability, making it a solid choice for use on a glove that’s designed to be used in the rain.

REV’IT! Dominator GTX Gloves Review

The white material used on the palm and fingers is Pittards WR100X hairsheep diamond leather – a specially treated sheepskin that won’t allow the uptake of water into the material while remaining breathable. This makes it particularly useful for an all-weather glove.

The GTX in the name implies the use of Gore-Tex which is a waterproof, breathable lining that comes with its own lifetime warranty to keep you dry. Gore-Tex technologies such as Gore+ Grip and X-Trafit are used to bond the waterproof liner to the outer layer of the glove. This is another reason that I really like the Dominator GTX gloves. Bulky liners tend to bunch and move around while also causing a reduction in feel. X-Trafit allows for waterproofing without adding layers, and in the case of the Dominator, this means you’re not going to be constantly pulling the liner out when pulling the gloves off or fighting with it whilst donning them. 

REV’IT! Dominator GTX Gloves Review

The large visor wiper runs nearly the entire length of the index finger on the left glove and it does its job quite well.

Not only are there interesting materials used, but also the construction itself is well thought out. The fingers use a box design, which provides ample room without that hot-dog-down-a-hallway feeling. The fingers also use external stitching for comfort. The closure on the glove is another unique item that uses two straps, one of which wraps all the way around the back of the hand, to provide a nice snug closure. The Dominator GTX is also a bit longer in the cuff than your typical short cuff glove, to better integrate with the waterproof liner of your jacket as it is meant to go inside the sleeve. And it doesn’t stop there.

REV’IT! Dominator GTX Gloves Review

The Dominator GTX uses the same knuckle slider from REV’IT!’s race gloves. In addition to some small sliders used on the fingers, a large palm slider is also included as well as a plastic slider on the outside of the thumb. 

Many waterproof and/or adventure style gloves on the market don’t tend to offer the level of protection seen in a race gauntlet. The Dominator GTX does. From the outer thumb slider, to the palm slider, and large aluminum knuckle slider on the back of the hand, it’s easy to feel confident using these gloves. Set the Jerez Pro race gauntlet next to the Dominator and it’s clear to see that REV’IT! used technology from its top-of-the-line race glove to make the Dominator much more than just a waterproof glove – all while keeping the glove comfortable enough to tour with. 

For me, the large fits spot on. No surprises regarding sizing. While there’s no thick insulated liner, it was more than enough for me when temps dipped into the 40s. Even without heated grips.

REV’IT! Dominator GTX Gloves Review

These are the most comfortable gloves I’ve worn recently by a long shot. I happily used them through five and a half days of riding in England spanning 1,600+ miles in all sorts of weather. I typically run pretty warm so my only complaint is that because of their waterproof nature, it’s usually too warm for me to use them here at home in sunny Southern California. The Dominator GTX is an investment at $270, but it’s also one of the most comfortable and comprehensive gloves I’ve had the pleasure of slipping into. 

Shop for the REV’IT! Dominator GTX Gloves here


We are committed to finding, researching, and recommending the best products. We earn commissions from purchases you make using the retail links in our product reviews. Learn more about how this works.